schedule

week 1

Monday, March 30

video

assignments

  • view the video instructions above
  • visit the class Nectir page and click in the message box and follow the instructions to sign up for Nectir
  • add a video message to the class Nectir channel–something like 20 seconds telling us where you are and how you’re doing
  • visit me on Zoom during class time (5:00-6:15) following the invitation that I send you
  • if you run into problems with either Nectir or Zoom, send me an email and we’ll sort it out

Wednesday, April 1

video

assignments

  • view the video instructions above
  • work through the HTML Beginner tutorial at HTML Dog
  • complete Exercise #1: create and post a webpage (default.html) that has a title, paragraphs, headings, an ordered and unordered list, a link, and an image (including a table and a form is optional); upload the file to your webhost before class on Monday 4/6
    • you can make this a serious page (e.g., an about page with content about yourself that you might eventually use at your website), or you can create a fun page with content about hobbies or jokes or likes/dislikes, etc. (I once had a student who made a webpage about how much she hated mayonaisse. It was hilarious.)
    • note that when you upload this page to your webhost it will (and should) overwrite the current default.html page (the one with the VHS video with your name on it)

week 2

Monday, April 6

  • work through the CSS Beginner tutorial at HTML Dog
  • complete Exercise #2: create and post an external style sheet to format the about page that you created in the previous exercise (due before class on Wednesday 4/8)

Wednesday, April 8

  • work through the HTML Intermediate tutorial (just read spans/divs and meta tags) and the CSS Intermediate tutorial at HTML Dog
  • complete Exercise #3: create and post a webpage that uses meta tags, spans and divs, classes and ids, grouping and nesting, pseudo classes for links, shorthand for borders and margins, and a background image; send me the URL for this page before class on Monday 4/13

week 3

Monday, April 13

Wednesday, April 15

  • select a template, upload it to your web server, and begin adding your content

week 4

Monday, April 20

Wednesday, April 22

  • handy tool to extract HTML colors from images
  • continue working on your template and move it to your main public_html folder
  • have a draft of your website ready to show in class on Monday, April 27

week 5

Monday, April 27

Wednesday, April 29

week 6

Monday, May 4 — Professional Website Due

  • in class: introduction to WordPress
  • send me an email with a proposal for your Multimedia Project

Wednesday, May 6

week 7

Monday, May 11

Wednesday, May 13

  • have a draft of your Multimedia Project ready for class on Monday, May 18

week 8

Monday, May 18

  • complete your Multimedia Project

Wednesday, May 20 — Multimedia Project Due

  • send me an email with your proposal for the Final Project

week 9

Monday, May 25 — Memorial Day holiday

Wednesday, May 27

week 10

Monday, June 1

Wednesday, June 3

Monday, June 8: Final Project due

Sadly, the Minor Graduation is cancelled this year. I hope that we can host a get together when you come back to campus for your postponed ceremony for UCSB graduation.