Writing 2E
Schedule
 
 


schedule

assignments

resources

home

 

 

 


WEEK 1

Monday, October 1

  • buy textbooks for the course
  • select one of the quotations about engineering and write a one-paragraph response: bring it printed out for cutting up into individual sentences, and have an electronic version ready to work on in the computer lab

Wednesday, October 3

  • make revisions to your quotation response paragraph
  • read Beer & McMurrey, Chapter 1: “Engineers and Writing”
  • read Florman, “Introduction” and “The Civilized Engineer” (in Writing 2E Course Reader)
  • choose your topic for the Technical Report assignment

WEEK 2

Monday, October 8

  • write a one-paragraph response to Florman, and have an electronic version ready to work on in the computer lab
  • read Postman, “The Judgment of Thamus”
  • read Beer & McMurrey, Chapter 2: “Some Guidelines for Good Engineering Writing”

Wednesday, October 10

  • read Rosen, “Our Cell Phones, Ourselves”
  • read Gordon, “The Engine of Liberation”
top

WEEK 3

Monday, October 15

  • read Rainie, “Internet: The Mainstreaming of Online Life”
  • read Jones, “Let the Games Begin”

Wednesday, October 17

  • read Rosen, “The Age of Egocasting”
  • read Edwords, “How Biotechnology is Transforming What We Believe and How We Live”
  • compile at least 4 sources for your Research Essay; write a summary of each source, and bring 4 copies of each summary to class on Monday, 10/22
top

WEEK 4

Monday, October 22

  • write a tentative introduction, thesis, and outline for your Research Essay; bring 4 copies to class on Wednesday, 10/24

Wednesday, October 24

  • revise your introduction and thesis; bring 4 copies to class on Monday, 10/29
  • read Beer & McMurrey, Chapter 3: “Eliminating Intermittent Noise in Writing”
top

WEEK 5

Monday, October 29

  • write a complete draft of the Research Essay and bring 4 copies of this draft to class on Wednesday, 10/31

Wednesday, October 31

  • finish the Research Essay
  • read Csikszentmihalyi,, “Engineering Politics”
  • read Beers & McMurrey, “Recommendation Reports”: Chapter 5 (pp. 114-120)
top

WEEK 6

Monday, November 5

Research Essay Due

  • read Beers & McMurrey, Chapter 6: “Writing an Engineering Report”
  • read Beers & McMurrey, Chapter 7: “Constructing Tables and Graphics”

Wednesday, November 7

  • write a draft of one section of the body of your Technical Report, including at least one graphic; bring 3 copies of this draft to class on Wednesday, 11/14
  • bring URLs for three websites that you can use as resources for your Technical Report
  • finish the Perfect Paragraph
top

WEEK 7

Monday, November 12

Veterans Day Holiday—no class

Wednesday, November 14

Perfect Paragraph Due

  • write the introduction of your Technical Report; bring 3 copies to class on Monday, 11/26
  • revise the point-by-point comparison section that you drafted
  • write a draft of one more point-by-point comparison section
top

WEEK 8

Monday, November 19

Wednesday, November 21

top

WEEK 9

Monday, November 26

  • write a draft of another section of the body of your Technical Report, including at least one graphic; bring 3 copies of this draft to class on Wednesday, 11/28

Wednesday, November 28

  • write a complete draft of the Technical Report; bring 2copies to class on Monday, 12/3
  • read Beer & McMurrey, Chapter 9: “Engineering Your Presentations” (pp. 187-208)
top


WEEK 10

Monday, December 3

  • finish the Technical Report

Wednesday, December 5

Technical Report Due

  • prepare your oral presentation (due on Wednesday, 12/12)

Final Oral Presentations:

Wednesday, December 12: 12:00-3:00
Gaviota Lab (PC)—Phelps 1529

top